Seven Stories Press

Works of Radical Imagination


Thirteen books written by 2022 Nobel Laureate Annie Ernaux published by Seven Stories Press.

"The harrowing beauty and brevity of these books and their apparent simplicity disguise somewhat the punishing cost of their honesty." —Rachel Cusk, New York Times Magazine

Winner of the 2022 Nobel Prize in Literature, Annie Ernaux is considered one of Europe’s most important contemporary writers. She has expanded the very meaning of literature and has asserted her feminism and class consciousness in the stories she tells.

Spanning Annie Ernaux’s English language oeuvre from 1991–2023, this collection of all thirteen titles published by Seven Stories attests to Ernaux’s range, depth, and enduring literary presence. Includes translations by Linda Coverdale, Tanya Leslie, Anna Moschovakis, and Alison L. Strayer.

Annie Ernaux: The Boxed Set includes:

- The Years
- Getting Lost
- Simple Passion
- A Girl's Story
- Happening
- Shame
- A Man's Place
- A Woman's Story
- A Frozen Woman
- I Remain in Darkness
- Exteriors
- The Possession
- The Young Man


Buying options

The author of some twenty works of fiction and memoir, ANNIE ERNAUX is considered by many to be France’s most important writer. In 2022, she was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature. She has also won the Prix Renaudot for A Man's Place and the Marguerite Yourcenar Prize for her body of work. More recently she received the International Strega Prize, the Prix Formentor, the French-American Translation Prize, and the Warwick Prize for Women in Translation for The Years, which was also shortlisted for the Man Booker International Prize. Her other works include Exteriors, A Girl's Story, A Woman's Story, The Possession, Simple Passion, HappeningI Remain in DarknessShameA Frozen WomanA Man's Place, and The Young Man

Other books by Annie Ernaux